When can you get a divorce in Washington State?
Washington State calls divorce “dissolution of marriage.” The court will grant the dissolution if you meet all the following:
- You are married either legally or through common law marriage in another state or country. (Washington does not have common law marriage.)
- You or your spouse is a Washington resident. This means you or your spouse live here and plan to stay here, or you are in the military and will be stationed here for at least 90 days after you file and serve the Petition for Dissolution.
- One spouse in the marriage believes the marriage is irretrievably broken (cannot be fixed).
- You file and serve the Summons and Petition for dissolution properly.
- At least 90 days have passed since the Petition for Dissolution was filed and served.
What if my spouse fights the dissolution?
If you meet the above requirements, the court will grant the dissolution even if your spouse does not agree to it. Your spouse can argue about other issues, such as:
- How the court divides property and debts;
- Whether one spouse gets maintenance (alimony);
- Custody and visitation (parenting plan) of your children;
- Child support.
If you and your spouse disagree or argue about these issues, it will take longer to get a dissolution. When there are disagreements, it may be hard to get a decree which protects your rights unless you have a lawyer. Even if you do agree, you may have rights you do not know about and would lose if you did not get expert advice.
Contact us today, to learn about your rights and options
We help by reviewing your case and letting you know what your rights are. If we can help you, we will.